We are expecting to be able to have live lectures in 2022, but the rules may change.

The Royal Society of New South Wales Southern Highlands

The Royal Society of New South Wales is the oldest learned society in the Southern Hemisphere, tracing its origin to the Philosophical Society of Australasia, founded in Sydney in 1821.

Next Lecture

Jul 2022

Fragility and the rise of poor mental health in our youth: Where are we going wrong?

Do we need a complete recalibration on how issues like gender identity and the language of depression and anxiety are addressed?

Lecture by
Clare Rowe

Clare is the founder of Rowe & Associates Child and Family Psychology. As an Educational and Developmental Psychologist she specialises in paediatric psychology including assessment and diagnosis of childhood disorders such as ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorders, learning disorders and giftedness. She has extensive experience in the treatment of childhood and adolescent anxiety and depression, and parental training in management of oppositional behavioural difficulties. Clare is known for her no-nonsense approach and her firm belief that children and families should not be in long term therapy -most common behavioural difficulties can be significantly improved in a few practical sessions of help. Clare also has a particular speciality in appearing as a Expert Witness in the Family Court in high conflict cases. Clare is a commentator on child and adolescent mental health, appearing regularly on Sky News and writes for The Australian newspaper.

t,b,a, (either Mittagong RSL or Moss Vale RSL)
Learn more

Upcoming lectures

Aug 2022
The cycle of rainfall in Eastern NSW
Prof Michael Asten and Prof Ken McCracken
Sep 2022
How Neutrons can save the World
Dr Helen Maynard-Casely
Oct 2022
Judging a Jest: Humour and Censorship
Dr. Jessica Milner Davis Honorary Associate Department of English

News & reports

May 4, 2020
Keeping our shared interests alive during COVID 19
Hubert Regtop

In order to keep our shared interests in science, the arts, literature and philosophy alive in this COVID 19 period of hibernation...

Read more
View more news